california / nature

A Tree Huggers Fantasy: Muir Woods

During our stay in San Francisco, we decided to take a day trip to Muir Woods, home to 240 acres of redwood forests. After finally figuring out the parking situation [we were confused, don’t judge us], we paid our $5 something ticket and headed out into the greens.  Although they aren’t the giant redwoods of Northern California [or are they?], they were rather impressive to say the least.  The forest was dark and lush and full of so much magic.  Luckily, it was middle of winter and we were able to get away from all the tourists; the forest most definitely isn’t the same with crying babies or kids running around at your feet.  At some points, it felt like we were the only ones there, looking up at the sky through the thick redwood canopy.  [Text continues after some photos…]

Thankfully N. kept a close eye on me- I most definitely would have found myself lost in the middle of the forest.  I have gotten MUCH better navigating the subways here in NYC, but put me in redwoods in the forest with no map, now thats a disaster waiting to happen.  No kidding aside, we actually are lucky we made it back to the parking lot: we headed deeper and deeper on the trail, turning this way and that, not exactly sure of our final destination.  That’s what it’s supposed to be when you’re smack dab in the middle of nature, right? Yea, that’s what I thought so too.


We  I could have meandered around for hours, soaking all the lush-ness in, but frankly, N. got bored and wanted our journey to end.  He’s clearly not as much of a nature lover as I am, which is pretty funny, considering the fact that I screamed at the sight of a water bug in our apartment.  Those things are HUGE- I bet you would scream too, but probably not stand on a chair with a fear of them eating you, like I did.  


Even though no banana slugs or convergent ladybugs were sighted, [although that’s probably a good thing, as I would have screamed and ran like a little girl, read above, while highly embarrassing myself – seeing the slug, not the group of ladybugs], our shoes were a little muddy, proving our visit was a complete success.  

Wow. I just re-read that, and if that’s not a run on sentence, I don’t know what is.  Too bad there is no grammar checker on here, only spell checker.  Oh well.


On that note, goodnight and happy hiking.  Remember to wear actual sneakers: don’t be silly foolish like me and wear flats.  Unless you like your feet all wet and dirty. Maybe you do, but I don’t.

Leave a Reply

